Welcome

Celebrating Over 75 Years Of Service

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA) represents over 2,700 Board-certified otolaryngologists and health care providers. Otolaryngology, frequently referred to as Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT), uniquely combines medical and surgical expertise to care for patients with a variety of conditions affecting the ears, nose, and throat, as well as commonly related conditions. AAOA members devote part of their practice to the diagnosis and treatment of allergic disease. The AAOA actively supports its membership through education, research, and advocacy in the care of allergic patients.

"Advance the comprehensive management of allergy and inflammatory disease in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery through training, education, and advocacy."

ADVOCACY UPDATES

Congress and Administration Take Aggressive Action to Address COVID-19 Pandemic but Providers Continue to Struggle

Congress has passed four pieces of legislation and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services…

read more

USP General Chapter <797> News. Media Fill Test Kit

Implementation of the new USP General Chapter <797> Pharmaceutical Compounding — Sterile Preparations is still…

read more

HHS Attestation Update

As AMA reported in the AMA Advocacy Update of May 22, HHS announced that providers need to…

read more

Changes in MACRA

Macra 101 Image

Before the close of 2017, all physicians must take action to avoid the 4 percent cut that will be assessed in 2019 for not participating in the new Quality Payment Program (QPP) authorized by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA).  Read More

CMS Announces Changes in MACRA Implementation Timeline. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) announced major changes to the implementation of the Medicare Access and CHIP Re-authorization (MACRA).
Read More

Upcoming Dates

07/07/20: Core Allergy & Rhinology Concepts: Age of Pandemics and Beyond
Countdown 

07/15/20: Call for Scientific Papers
Learn more

09/11/20: Membership Application Deadline to be voted in at the 2020 Annual Meeting and to be eligible for AAOA Member Rate (FREE) for the 2020 Annual Meeting Learn more

12/01/20: Research Grant Cycle
Learn more

04/01/21: Fellow Exam Application Deadline
Learn more

06/01/21: Research Grant Cycle
Learn more

06/26/21: Membership Application Deadline to be eligible for AAOA Member rate for the 2021 Basic Course

EDUCATION

New Virtual Course!

Register now as we build out Part 2 Core Allergy & Part 3 Core Rhinology.   Both promise to deliver clinical content you need.  Core Allergy will offer what you need to help refresh or add allergy to your practice — everything from the clinical science to the basics of allergy from a better understanding of testing techniques, vial prep, and dose calculations to other practical implications.  Core Rhinology encompassed the highly sought after rhinology content from our former IAR program.  Part 1 will launch soon with on demand content to help you balance all your time demands.  Part 2 & 3 will feature live-stream content to give you opportunities to interact with the faculty.  Post live session, this content will also be available on demand. Stay tuned for more details as we finish our program build. Read More

IFAR

IFAR Impact Factor: 2.454

aaoaf-ifar

IFAR Featured Content: COVID-19 - Free Access
Endonasal instrumentation and aerosolization risk in the era of COVID‐19: simulation, literature review, and proposed mitigation strategies . Read More

Now Available

Changes in Managing Practices

Mission

Working together with AAOA staff, volunteer leadership and members will enable us to have a positive impact on our members’ practices.

Read More

Live and Online CME

NEW VIRTUAL COURSE! Core Allergy and Rhinology Concepts: Age of Pandemics and Beyond
Learn How to Reboot Your Practice and Freshen Up on Core Allergy and Rhinology Components
Learn More and Register

Registrants! Use the access button below to Log in and click My Account at the top of the link page to get into the course event page.

2020 AAOA Annual Meeting
Now Virtual
Learn More and Register

2020 Advanced Course in Allergy & Immunology
December 9-12 | Vail, CO
Learn More and Register

AAOA Clinical Insights
Learn More and Register

USP 797 Online Module
Learn More and Register

2021 Basic Course in Allergy & Immunology
July 15-17 | Seattle, WA

News and Updates

We Are Rolling Out Our First Completely Virtual CME Course

Chamberlain’s often-used quote about living in interesting times used to sound trite, but today it…

read more

Resuming SCIT During COVID-19 Pandemic

This summary is intended to provide practicing Otolaryngologists a guide to resuming safe allergy care…

read more
College Allergy Symptoms Treatment Back to Shcool

PRACTICE RESOURCES

AAOA Practice Resource Tool Kit

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA) Practice Resource Tool Kit is intended as a guide to help AAOA members integrate allergy into their otolaryngology practice and to continually improve on this integration as new information, regulations, and resources become available.

Read More

PATIENT CORNER

Menu

Core Allergy & Rhinology Concepts: Age of Pandemics & Beyond - NEW VIRTUAL COURSE

Course Schedule

healthcare

Learn How to Reboot Your Practice and Freshen Up on Core Allergy and Rhinology Components

In response to COVID and the extraordinary impact it has had on healthcare and the practice of medicine, the AAOA is rolling out a new 100% virtual course to help our members adjust to the changes and rebuild their practices.

The course will roll out in three components — Practice Reboot, Core Allergy Concepts, Core Rhinology. Because the course is virtual, we can roll out the content in a timely manner. Not only that, you can access the content on your time.

On Demand - Rebooting your Practice

Introduction

  • Predictions for Practicing Otolaryngology/Allergy

Telemedicine Was Coming to Otolaryngology – COVID-19 Simply Sped Up Its Adoption – Part 1

  • Intro to Telemedicine
  • How to Conduct a Professional Telemedicine Visit Using Good Website Manner
  • How to Do a Physical Exam with Telemedicine
  • Billing and Coding for Telemedicine Visits
  • The Impossible Mission?
  • Is Telemedicine Here to Stay?

The New Normal & How It Will Be Affected by COVID-19? – Part 2

  • How to Master Social Distancing in the Otolaryngology Practice
  • Prepare Your Office to Safely Triage and Manage Patients with Respiratory Illness
  • The ‘What If’ Team
  • In-Office Procedures: How to Perform Safely & Effectively in This New Era
  • Opening the Flood Gates
  • Resident Training Outcomes in the COVID Era

Show Me the Money – The Delicate Balance – Part 3

  • Balancing Delayed Elective Procedures, New Patients, and Office-Based Procedures/Allergy
  • Cash Flow
  • I Have Bills, Bills, Bills (The Various Loan Programs)
  • Consolidation Is Not a Bad Word

Leaner Practices (HR Practicalities) – Part 4

  • Gaining Efficiencies: Perhaps There is a Silver Lining?
  • New Policies for Routine and Enhanced Cleaning of the Workplace
  • Family First Coronavirus Response Act – What You Need to Know
  • Communication Is Key

Opportunities for Growth – Part 5

  • SLIT as the Post-Pandemic Answer
  • Rebranding. Is It Time for an Image Update?
  • Point of Care CT Imaging & Pulmonary Testing in Otolaryngology and Allergy
  • New Service Lines Panel

Special Clinical Concerns – Part 6

  • Food Allergy Patients
  • Steroids
  • Asthma and Nebulizers
  • Biologics
  • Re-Initiation of SCIT

Importance of Physician Wellness & Resilience – Part 7

  • Your Wellness Is Important (to the AAOA)
  • Tell Your Team to Take Care of Themselves
  • Practicing Mindfulness and Gratitude for Enhancing Physician and Team Engagement and Reducing Burnout

Tuesday, July 7, 2020 - Allergy

Mid-Day Session

11:30am EDT/8:30am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

12:00pm EDT/9:00am PDT: What Do You Want to Get Out of This Course?
12:30pm EDT/9:30am PDT: Peer-to-Peer Learning Homerooms

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

Evening Session

7:30pm EDT/4:30pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

8:00pm EDT/5:00pm PDT: Understanding Immunology… Seriously!
8:20pm EDT/5:20pm PDT: Allergies & Asthma Ruined My Life
9:00pm EDT/6:00pm PDT: Epidemiology and Genetics of Allergy

9:40pm EDT/6:40pm PDT: Session Adjourns

Wednesday, July 8, 2020 - Allergy

Mid-Day Session

11:30am EDT/8:30am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

Brown Bag Lunch/Morning Coffee with Faculty
12:00pm EDT/9:00am PDT: How I Set Up My Practice

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

Evening Session

7:30pm EDT/4:30pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

8:00pm EDT/5:00pm PDT: Clinical Manifestations of Allergic Disease
8:25pm EDT/5:25pm PDT: Unified Airway
8:55pm EDT/5:55pm PDT: Family Feud – Pharmacotherapy

9:55pm EDT/6:55pm PDT: Session Adjourns

Thursday, July 9, 2020 - Allergy

Mid-Day Session

11:30am EDT/8:30am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

12:00pm EDT/9:00am PDT: Match Game – What to Test for?
12:40pm EDT/9:40am PDT: Mission Impossible? (Environmental Controls)

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

Evening Session

7:30pm EDT/4:30pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

8:00pm EDT/5:00pm PDT: Preparation of a Testing/Treatment Board
8:20pm EDT/5:20pm PDT: Skin Testing Techniques: Prick and Single Intradermal
8:50pm EDT/5:50pm PDT: Skin Testing Techniques: Intradermal Dilutional Testing & Modified Quantitative Testing

9:30pm EDT/6:30pm PDT: Session Adjourns

Friday, July 10, 2020 - Allergy

Mid-Day Session

11:30am EDT/8:30am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

12:00pm EDT/9:00am PDT: Skin Testing Practicum
12:45pm EDT/9:45am PDT: In Vitro

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

Saturday, July 11, 2020 - Allergy

Full-Day Session

8:30am EDT/5:30am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

9:00am EDT/6:00am PDT: Socioeconomics of Skin Testing
9:15am EDT/6:15am PDT: Immunology of Immunotherapy – SCIT & SLIT
9:45am EDT/6:45am PDT: Application of Immunotherapy Part I: Vial Prep
10:30am EDT/7:30am PDT: Application of Immunotherapy Part II: Escalation, Maintenance, & Withdrawal
11:10am EDT/8:10am PDT: Questions I Want Answered

11:55am EDT/8:55am PDT: SATELLITE PRODUCT THEATER

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: Sublingual Immunotherapy Part I: Background and Efficacy
1:30pm EDT/10:30am PDT: Sublingual Immunotherapy Part II: Antigen Selection, Dosing, and Vial Preparation
2:10pm EDT/11:10am PDT: Sublingual Immunotherapy Part III: Sublingual Tablets & Economics of SLIT
2:25pm EDT/11:25am PDT: Socioeconomics of Immunotherapy

2:35pm EDT/11:35am PDT: BREAK

2:45pm EDT/11:45am PDT: Dose Calculation & Treatment Vial Preparation Practicum
3:45pm EDT/12:45pm PDT: When Good Patients Go Bad
4:15pm EDT/1:15pm PDT: Management of Allergy Emergencies
4:45pm EDT/1:45pm PDT: USP <797> Compliance
5:00pm EDT/2:00pm PDT: Food Allergy: An Introduction
5:45pm EDT/2:45pm PDT: Asthma Diagnosis: The Very Basics
6:15pm EDT/3:15pm PDT: Questions You Asked

6:45pm EDT/3:45pm PDT: Session Adjourns

Sunday, July 12, 2020 - Rhinology

Full-Day Session

8:30am EDT/5:30am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

9:00am EDT/6:00am PDT: Diagnosis and Classification of Rhinosinusitis
9:20am EDT/6:20am PDT: Adult Rhinosinusitis Guidelines and Evidence- Based Recommendations
9:40am EDT/6:40am PDT: Pediatric Rhinosinusitis
9:55am EDT/6:55am PDT: Sinonasal Anatomy and Imaging
10:20am EDT/7:20am PDT: Immunodeficiency and Sinus Disease
10:35am EDT/7:35am PDT: Cystic Fibrosis and Rhinosinusitis
10:50am EDT/7:50am PDT: Granulomatous Diseases Involving the Sinuses

11:15am EDT/8:15am PDT: VIRTUAL EXHIBIT SHOWCASE

12:15pm EDT/9:15am PDT: Septal and Nasal Valve Surgery
12:30pm EDT/9:30am PDT: Epistaxis
12:45pm EDT/9:45am PDT: Systemic Antimicrobials and Steroids for Rhinosinusitis
1:05pm EDT/10:05am PDT: Topical and Alternative Therapies for Rhinosinusitis
1:20pm EDT/10:20am PDT: Acute Complicated Rhinosinusitis
1:45pm EDT/10:45am PDT: Fungal Rhinosinusitis
2:05pm EDT/11:05am PDT: Pre-Op and Post-Op Techniques to Maximize FESS Outcomes

2:25pm EDT/11:25am PDT: BREAK

3:00pm EDT/12:00pm PDT: Balloon Sinus Ostial Dilation: Techniques, Evidence, and Guidelines
3:20pm EDT/12:20pm PDT: Complications of Endoscopic Sinus Surgery
3:40pm EDT/12:40pm PDT: Headache for Otolaryngologists
3:55pm EDT/12:55pm PDT: Smell and Taste
4:10pm EDT/1:10pm PDT: Cerebrospinal Fluid Leaks
4:30pm EDT/1:30pm PDT: Benign Sinonasal Neoplasms
4:45pm EDT/1:45pm PDT: Malignant Sinonasal Neoplasms
5:05pm EDT/2:05pm PDT: Lessons Learned from COVID/COVID Update Panel

5:35pm EDT/2:35pm PDT: Session Adjourns

Download the full schedule

Accreditation Statement

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

AMA Credit Designation Statement

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy designates this live activity for a maximum of 30 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits(TM). Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

ABOHNS Continuing Certification Recognition Statement

Successful completion of this CME activity, which includes participation in the evaluation component, enables the participant to earn their required annual part II self-assessment credit in the American Board of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery’s Continuing Certification program (formerly known as MOC). It is the CME activity provider’s responsibility to submit participant completion information to ACCME for the purpose of recognizing participation.

Looking for More Value? AAOA is now aligned to offer CME credits for eligible ABOHNS Diplomates for Continuing Certification (MOC). As an AAOA member can choose to participate in ABOHNS Continuing Certification credits (MOC) Part II: Self-Assessment credits by click the MOC option when registering for this activity.  Make sure you update your member profile when you register to help assure you can receive Continuing Certification credit.

As our pilot year, the AAOA is making the participation in ABOHNS Continuing Certification credits (MOC) free for AAOA members with this CME course registration. MOC opt-in option is complimentary until the course ends. You will be asked to pay $100 late fee if you miss the deadline and still want to claim Continuing Certification credits (MOC) for this activity.  Nonmembers can also participate in ABOHNS continuing certification for an additional fee.

Learn more by visiting the ABOHNS Continuing Certification credits (MOC) page.

Join Us Online!

Register now as we build out Part 2 Core Allergy & Part 3 Core Rhinology.   Both promise to deliver clinical content you need.  Core Allergy will offer what you need to help refresh or add allergy to your practice — everything from the clinical science to the basics of allergy from a better understanding of testing techniques, vial prep, and dose calculations to other practical implications.  Core Rhinology encompassed the highly sought after rhinology content from our former IAR program.  Part 1 will launch soon with on demand content to help you balance all your time demands.  Part 2 & 3 will feature live-stream content to give you opportunities to interact with the faculty.  Post live session, this content will also be available on demand. Stay tuned for more details as we finish our program build.

Registration

Members (Whole Course - 3 Segments)$925.00
Member (Any 1 Segment)$395.00
Member Resident (Whole Course - 3 Segments)$475.00
Non-Member (Whole Course - 3 Segments Only)$1390.00
Industry Representative$1390.00

Important Information

Cancellation

Registration fees for this course are non-transferable and non-refundable. Please contact the AAOA directly (meetings@aaoallergy.org) regarding cancellation.

If you have a disability or require assistance during the course, contact the AAOA at 202-955-5010 or meetings@aaoallergy.org.

If you’re not a member of the AAOA, join now and take advantage of the membership rates.