skip to Main Content

Welcome

Celebrating 80 Years Of Service!

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA) represents over 2,700 Board-certified otolaryngologists and health care providers. Otolaryngology, frequently referred to as Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT), uniquely combines medical and surgical expertise to care for patients with a variety of conditions affecting the ears, nose, and throat, as well as commonly related conditions. AAOA members devote part of their practice to the diagnosis and treatment of allergic disease. The AAOA actively supports its membership through education, research, and advocacy in the care of allergic patients.

"Advance the comprehensive management of allergy and inflammatory disease in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery through training, education, and advocacy."

ADVOCACY UPDATES

Medicare 2022 Conversion Factor Update

Thanks to lobbying efforts from the House of Medicine, Congress took action this month. The…

read more

CY 2022 Physician Fee Schedule Proposed Rule Summary

On July 13, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) released the Medicare Physician…

read more

Congress Considers Extension of Telehealth Flexibilities Post-Pandemic

The COVID-19 pandemic forced Congress and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) to…

read more

Changes in MACRA

Macra 101 Image

Before the close of 2017, all physicians must take action to avoid the 4 percent cut that will be assessed in 2019 for not participating in the new Quality Payment Program (QPP) authorized by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA).  Read More

CMS Announces Changes in MACRA Implementation Timeline. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) announced major changes to the implementation of the Medicare Access and CHIP Re-authorization (MACRA).
Read More

Upcoming Dates

06/26/22: Membership Application Deadline to be eligible for AAOA Member rate for the 2022 Basic Course

07/01/22: Scientific Abstract Submission Deadline
Learn more

07/28/22: Membership Application Deadline to be voted in at the 2022 Annual Meeting

12/01/22: Research Grant Cycle
Learn more

04/01/23: Fellow Exam Application Deadline
Learn more

06/01/23: Research Grant Cycle
Learn more

EDUCATION

Register today for the hybrid 2022 AAOA Basic Course in Allergy & Immunology. The Basic Course in Allergy & Immunology presents basic concepts and techniques applicable to the clinical care of allergic patients. Learn More

RESIDENTS

For information about Resident opportunities, DosedDaily, research grants, and other resources. Learn More

IFAR

Available Now

aaoaf-ifar

IFAR Impact Factor: 2.454

IFAR Featured Content: COVID-19 - Free Access
Endonasal instrumentation and aerosolization risk in the era of COVID‐19: simulation, literature review, and proposed mitigation strategies . Read More

Changes in Managing Practices

Working together with AAOA staff, volunteer leadership and members will enable us to have a positive impact on our members’ practices.

Read More

Live and Online CME

2022 AAOA Basic Course - Hybrid!
The Diplomat Beach Resort, Hollywood, FL
June 1, 2022 - Pre-Work On-Demand
June 30-July 2, 2022 - F2F - Live Stream
Learn More and Register
On-Demand and Live Stream Access

2022 AAOA Annual Meeting
Loews Philadelphia, PA
September 9-11, 2022- F2F - Live Stream
Learn More and Register

2023 AAOA Advanced Course in Allergy & Immunology
March 30 - April 1, 2023
The Hythe Vail
Formerly the Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

USP 797 Online Module
Learn More and Register

News and Updates

Helping Private Practices Navigate Non-Essential Care During COVID-19

The American Medical Association has released updated guidance for private practice physicians navigating the provision…

read more

Office Hours With AAOA President

As you know, AAOA is about its members and our community. In an effort to…

read more
College Allergy Symptoms Treatment Back to Shcool

PRACTICE RESOURCES

AAOA Practice Resource Tool Kit

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA) Practice Resource Tool Kit is intended as a guide to help AAOA members integrate allergy into their otolaryngology practice and to continually improve on this integration as new information, regulations, and resources become available.

Read More

PARTNER RESOURCE CENTER

AAOA has launched a Partner Resource Center to bring you partner resources that can assist your practice and patient care.

Visit the New Center>

PATIENT CORNER

AAOA Logo

AAOA Basic Course in Allergy & Immunology 2021

Course Schedule

100% Virtual for 2021

On-demand Course Content launching June 1, 2021 Complemented with Engaging, Live- Stream Course Content Targeted for July 8-11, 2021

2021 Basic Course Pre-work - On-Demand

Recorded content will be available starting on June 1, 2021 and is pre-work to the Basic Course.

This suite of lectures is designed to teach important foundational content to prepare the learner to get the most out of their AAOA Basic Course experience. Recorded content will allow you to learn at your own pace, review what you have learned, and have your questions answered during the live sessions.

Introduction to Allergy

  • Overview of Allergies and Head & Neck Disease
  • Immunology of Allergy
  • Epidemiology of Allergy
  • Genetics of Allergy
  • Clinical Manifestations of Allergic Disease
  • Unified Airway

Allergy Testing

  • Allergen Characteristics and Standardization
  • Allergens Classes
  • Cross-Reactivity Selection
  • Preparation of Testing and Treatment Board
  • Skin Testing Techniques I: Prick and Single Intradermal
  • Skin Testing Techniques II: IDT
  • Skin Testing Techniques III: MQT
  • In Vitro Specific IgE Testing
  • Coding for Allergy Testing – What You Need to Know

Treatment of Allergy

  • Avoidance and Environmental Control
  • Immunology and Principles of Immunotherapy
  • Pharmacotherapy Part I
  • Pharmacotherapy Part II
  • Sublingual Immunotherapy for Inhalant Allergy Part I:
    Background & Efficacy
  • Sublingual Immunotherapy for Inhalant Allergy Part III:
    Sublingual Tablets & Economics of SLIT
  • Management of Allergy Emergencies

Introduction To Advanced Topics

  • Asthma Diagnosis: The Very Basics
  • Introduction to Food Allergy
  • Coding for Allergy Treatment – What you Need to Know

Thursday, July 8, 2021

Evening Session

6:00pm EDT/3:00pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase 

6:30pm EDT/3:30pm PDT: Late Night with Dr. Levy: Role of Allergy in Comprehensive ENT

7:10pm EDT/4:10pm PDT: NON-AAOA SATELLITE EVENT (non-CME sponsored event)

8:10pm EDT/5:10pm PDT: Allergy Charades
Join Our Contestants to Test Your Skills on Antigen Selection

8:30pm EDT/5:30pm PDT: The Great Allergy Panel Championship
Join Dr. Villwock as she challenges seasoned allergists with a series of special cases that will force them to consider geography, seasonality, and more as they create the best antigen panel for each case challenge.

8:50pm EDT/5:50pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase 

9:05pm EDT/6:05pm PDT: Trivia Slam: Immunology Edition

9:35pm EDT/6:35pm PDT: Thursday Session Adjourns

Friday, July 9, 2021

Mid-Day Session

11:45am EDT/8:45am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase 

12:00pm EDT/9:00am PDT: Skin Testing Practicum
Live Demonstrations of Testing Methodologies — Review Skin-Testing Pre-Work Lectures prior and Follow along in your office

Evening Session

7:30pm EDT/4:30pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase 

LIVE ONLY SESSIONS – AAOA ESCAPE ROOM EXPEDITION AND DRINKS WITH PROFESSORS

These small group sessions are not-to-be-missed opportunities to test your allergy knowledge with your “team” and will not be available post course on demand! We will run concurrent one-hour sessions between 7:45 PM and 9:00 PM

  • AAOA Escape Room Expedition- Join your colleagues and solve puzzles tied to an allergy case using clues and strategies based on what you learned from the pre-work content and help your team overcome the challenges! Rooms have limited capacity. Please log into the Whova App early Check out the Preview
  • Drinks with Professors: How I Chose My Testing Method – Enjoy casual conversations with the faculty in small groups as you discuss testing methods and ask your questions

7:45pm EDT/4:45pm PDT: AAOA ESCAPE ROOM EXPEDITION AND DRINKS WITH PROFESSORS BREAKOUT I

8:45pm EDT/5:45pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase 

9:00pm EDT/6:00pm PDT: AAOA ESCAPE ROOM EXPEDITION AND DRINKS WITH PROFESSORS BREAKOUT II

10:00pm EDT/7:00pm PDT: Friday Session Adjourns

Saturday, July 10, 2021

Morning Session

10:00am EDT/7:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase 

10:15am EDT/7:15am PDT: Mixing Tray Practicum and Faculty Office Tours

11:00am EDT/8:00am PDT: How to Decide Which Testing Method to Use in Your Practice

11:15am EDT/8:15am PDT: Subcutaneous Immunotherapy for Inhalants I: Vial Preparation

12:00pm EDT/9:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase

12:15pm EDT/9:15am PDT: BREAK OR OFFICE HOURS – Stretch your legs or join us in a community meet-up and ask us about the Fellow Exam, AAOA Membership and more!

Afternoon Session 

12:35pm EDT/9:35am PDT: Subcutaneous Immunotherapy for Inhalants II:  Escalation, Maintenance and Withdrawal

1:20pm EDT/10:20am PDT: The Most Bang for Your Buck – Are environmental controls worth the money and effort? 

1:40pm EDT/10:40am PDT: Trivia Slam: Pharmacotherapy Edition

2:10pm EDT/11:10am PDT: Q&A Session – Questions from the recorded content will be addressed – make sure to submit your questions ahead of time on the Whova platform

2:35pm EDT/11:35am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase 

2:50pm EDT/11:50am PDT: Saturday Session Adjourns

Sunday, July 11, 2021

Morning Session

9:45am EDT/6:45am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase 

10:00am EDT/7:00am PDT: Sublingual Immunotherapy for Inhalant Allergy Part II: Antigen Selection, Dosing, & Vial Preparation

10:45am EDT/7:45am PDT: NON-AAOA SATELLITE EVENT (non-CME sponsored event)

11:45am EDT/8:45am PDT: When Good Patients Go Bad Panel

12:45pm EDT/9:45am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase

Afternoon Session 

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: Dose Calculations & Vial Preparation

2:00pm EDT/11:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @ Home: Showcase

2:15pm EDT/11:15am PDT: Adding Allergy to Your Practice

3:15pm EDT/12:15pm PDT: Closing Q&A Session – Questions from the live sessions and recorded content will be addressed – make sure to submit your questions ahead of time on the Whova platform

3:30pm EDT/12:30pm PDT: Course Concludes

Click here to download a printable file of the 2021 AAOA Basic Course Schedule. 

Click here to download a printable file of the 2021 AAOA Basic Course Schedule with full session descriptions. 

If you have any questions, please contact meetings@aaoallergy.org.

If you’d like to register, please contact AAOA with any questions: meetings@aaoallergy.org.

Register Today

Registration Price List

Fellow Member$1,110.00
Associate Member$1,225.00
International Member$1,225.00
NP/PA Member$1,225.00
Allied Health Member$1,225.00
Resident Member$600.00
Non-Member Physician$2,500.00
Non-Member Allied Health, NP/PA$2,500.00
Industry Representative$2,500.00
Non-member Resident$850.00

Cancellation Policy

Registration fees are non-transferable. Refunds (less a 20% administration fee) may be considered for cancellations received in writing by the AAOA prior to June 1, 2021.

Cancellations received after June 1, 2021 are non-refundable. 

If you have a disability or require assistance during the course, contact the AAOA at 202-955-5010 or meetings@aaoallergy.org.

Note for New Member Applicants

If you would like to receive a member rate for the 2021 Basic Course in Allergy & Immunology, please submit your membership application, supporting documents, and payment no later than June 1, 2021.

Contact Ben Wokas at (202) 955-5010 ext. 300 or bwokas@aaoallergy.org if you have any questions.

Back To Top