skip to Main Content

Welcome

Celebrating 80 Years Of Service!

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA) represents over 2,700 Board-certified otolaryngologists and health care providers. Otolaryngology, frequently referred to as Ear, Nose, and Throat (ENT), uniquely combines medical and surgical expertise to care for patients with a variety of conditions affecting the ears, nose, and throat, as well as commonly related conditions. AAOA members devote part of their practice to the diagnosis and treatment of allergic disease. The AAOA actively supports its membership through education, research, and advocacy in the care of allergic patients.

"Advance the comprehensive management of allergy and inflammatory disease in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery through training, education, and advocacy."

ADVOCACY UPDATES

Changes in MACRA

Macra 101 Image

Before the close of 2017, all physicians must take action to avoid the 4 percent cut that will be assessed in 2019 for not participating in the new Quality Payment Program (QPP) authorized by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA).  Read More

CMS Announces Changes in MACRA Implementation Timeline. The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) announced major changes to the implementation of the Medicare Access and CHIP Re-authorization (MACRA).
Read More

Upcoming Dates

03/15/21: 2021 Annual Meeting Crowdsourcing
Learn more

03/15/21: Call for Proposals
Learn more

04/01/21: Fellow Exam Application Deadline
Learn more

06/01/21: Research Grant Cycle
Learn more

06/26/21: Membership Application Deadline to be eligible for AAOA Member rate for the 2021 Basic Course

07/15/21: Call for Scientific Papers

09/01/21: Membership Application Deadline to be voted in at the 2021 Annual Meeting

12/01/21: Research Grant Cycle
Learn more

EDUCATION

Don't miss the opportunity to curate content you need now conveniently in your own office or home! The content will only be available until March 25th!

NEW YEAR, SAME PANDEMIC

Looking for insights as you focus on 2021 and practice growth? Still struggling with some of the reboot challenges from COVID? AAOA is re-releasing core content from its summer Pandemic course to help give you access to content you need now. Register now for the great way to gain insights, earn up to 13 hrs CME, and help meet your maintenance of certification (MOC) requirements.

JUST THE BASICS

Do you have new staff and need help training them on the core concepts of allergy diagnosis and management in ENT? In your practice reboot, are you reconsidering your practice set up or considering adding allergy to your practice? Are you looking for great review tools for you and your staff?

To help you we are offering time-limited access to our core allergy education library to give you and your staff the tools you need to get up to speed or refresh on the key concepts in allergy diagnosis and management. Register today and earn up to 8.75 hrs of CME (MOC eligible).

IFAR

IFAR Impact Factor: 2.454

aaoaf-ifar

IFAR Featured Content: COVID-19 - Free Access
Endonasal instrumentation and aerosolization risk in the era of COVID‐19: simulation, literature review, and proposed mitigation strategies . Read More

Now Available

Changes in Managing Practices

Working together with AAOA staff, volunteer leadership and members will enable us to have a positive impact on our members’ practices.

Read More

Live and Online CME

New Year, Same Pandemic
January 25-March 25 | On-Demand
Learn More and Register

Just the Basics
January 25-March 25 | On-Demand
Learn More and Register

2021 Basic Course in Allergy & Immunology
On-demand Mid-June Live Stream Targeted For July 8-11 | Virtual
Learn More and Register

USP 797 Online Module
Learn More and Register

2021 AAOA Annual Meeting
Pre-launch Mid-September
Live Stream Starting on Oct 16 | Virtual
Learn More

News and Updates

Why 2017 AAOA Advanced Course in Allergy & Immunology

By Cecelia Damask, DO, Director of Educational Programs Due to popular demand, the AAOA is excited…

read more

CMS Releases Proposed Physician Fee Schedule for CY 2018

AAOA had participated in surveys for the American Medical Association’s (AMA) Relative Value Update Committee…

read more
College Allergy Symptoms Treatment Back to Shcool

PRACTICE RESOURCES

AAOA Practice Resource Tool Kit

The American Academy of Otolaryngic Allergy (AAOA) Practice Resource Tool Kit is intended as a guide to help AAOA members integrate allergy into their otolaryngology practice and to continually improve on this integration as new information, regulations, and resources become available.

Read More

PATIENT CORNER

AAOA Logo

AAOA Annual Meeting 2020

Annual Meeting Schedule

October 24-29, 2020

Click here to download a printable file of the 2020 AAOA Annual Meeting Schedule. You can also download the schedule at glance here. If you have any questions, please contact meetings@aaoallergy.org.

On Demand - Clinical and Practice Management

Clinical Content Sessions

  • Aspirin-Exacerbated Respiratory Disease (AERD): Emerging Opportunities for Patient Care
  • Component Testing: Refining Your Allergy Practice
  • Evidence-Based Immunotherapy
  • How to Incorporate Biologics into Clinical Practice
  • Itching, Rashes and Hives: What Can We Treat as Otolaryngic Allergists & What Needs a Dermatology Consultation
  • Link Between Sleep & Allergy in ENT Patients
  • Office-Based Sinonasal Procedures
  • Mast Cell Activation Syndrome – Diagnosis Du Jour: an Evidence-Based Approach
  • Migraine and Allergy Connection
  • SLIT Dosing: State of the Art Immunotherapy
  • Smell: The Forgotten Sense

Practice Management Sessions

  • EPIC in Otolaryngic Allergy: Automating MQT Testing, Mixing & Immunotherapy with Formula-Based Epic Workflow
  • Value – Based Healthcare: Opportunities within Sinus and Allergy Disease
  • Immunotherapy Compliance
  • Optimizing the Patient Experience through Practice Efficiency
  • Adding Allergy to Your Practice
  • The Impact on Social Media on Your Practice: Navigating the world of social media and making it work for you

Saturday, October 24, 2020 - Biologics in Otolaryngology

Full-Day Session

9:25am EDT/6:25am PDT: Daily Introduction

9:30am EDT/6:30am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Networking

9:45am EDT/6:45am PDT: 4th Annual BJ Ferguson Memorial Keynote Lecture – Pathogenesis and Endotypes of Chronic Rhinosinusitis
10:45am EDT/7:45am PDT: Treatment of AERD in the Age of Biologics

11:45am EDT/8:45am PDT: NON-CME SATELLITE EVENT

12:45pm EDT/9:45am PDT: One-On-One with Jack Krouse
1:45pm EDT/10:45am PDT: Moment of Truth Debate: Appropriate Use of Biologics
2:45pm EDT/11:45am PDT: End of Day Overview

2:50pm EDT/11:50am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Networking

3:50pm EDT/12:50pm PDT: Saturday Session Adjourns

Sunday, October 25, 2020 - Practice Management Hot Topics

Full-Day Session

11:25am EDT/8:25am PDT: Daily Introduction

11:30am EDT/8:30am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Networking (Halloween Scavenger Hunt)

12:00pm EDT/9:00am PDT: What You Really Need to Know About Telehealth & Billing and the New E/M Codes
1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: Allergy Coding for the ENT: What You Know, What You Don’t Know, & Best Practices
2:00pm EDT/11:00am PDT: Rev Up Your Revenue Cycle

3:00pm EDT/12:00pm PDT: NON-CME SATELLITE EVENT

4:00pm EDT/1:00pm PDT: Office Efficiency Part 1: Modern Problems & Modern Solutions
5:00pm EDT/2:00pm PDT: Office Efficiency Part 2: Modern Problems & Modern Solutions
6:00pm EDT/3:00pm PDT: End of Day Overview

6:05pm EDT/3:05pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Networking (Halloween Scavenger Hunt)

6:35pm EDT/3:35pm PDT: Sunday Session Adjourns

Monday, October 26, 2020

Mid-Day Session

12:00pm EDT/9:00am PDT: Virtual Surgeons’ Lounge discussing:

  • Generating Allergy Revenue in the Time of COVID-19
  • Office-Based Procedures
  • SLIT

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Showcase

Evening Session

7:00pm EDT/4:00pm PDT: NON-CME SATELLITE EVENT

8:00pm EDT/5:00pm PDT: Wait, Wait “Do” Tell Me! – The Journal Club Edition

8:45pm EDT/5:45pm PDT: BREAK – Visit our Exhibits, Stretch, Jumping Jacks, or Grab Some Halloween Candy from Your Kitchen

9:00pm EDT/6:00pm PDT: Clinical Pearls discussing:

  • AERD
  • How to Incorporate Biologics
  • Sinonasal Office-Based Procedures
  • Smell

9:50pm EDT/6:50pm PDT: Monday Session Adjourns

Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Mid-Day Session

12:45pm EDT/9:45am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Showcase

1:00pm EDT/10:00am PDT: Virtual Surgeons’ Lounge discussing:

  • Central Compartment Atopic Disease
  • Migraine
  • Sleep & Allergy

2:00pm EDT/11:00am PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Showcase

Evening Session

7:00pm EDT/4:00pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Round Robin Networking

8:00pm EDT/5:00pm PDT: $100,000 Pyramid – Immunotherapy Edition

8:45pm EDT/5:45pm PDT: BREAK – Visit our Exhibits, Stretch, Jumping Jacks, or Grab Some Halloween Candy from Your Kitchen

9:00pm EDT/6:00pm PDT: Clinical Pearls discussing:

  • Evidence-Based Immunotherapy
  • Itching, Rashes, and Hives
  • Link Between Sleep & Allergy
  • Mast Cell Activation Syndrome
  • The Migraine-Allergy Connection

9:40pm EDT/6:40pm PDT: Tuesday Session Adjourns

Wednesday, October 28, 2020

Mid-Day Session

2:00pm EDT/11:00am PDT: Virtual Surgeons’ Lounge discussing:

  • Allergy Emergencies
  • Antigen Selection
  • Entrepreneurship

3:00pm EDT/12:00pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Showcase

Evening Session

7:00pm EDT/4:00pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Networking

8:00pm EDT/5:00pm PDT: AAOA Shark Tank

8:45pm EDT/5:45pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Showcase

9:00pm EDT/6:00pm PDT: Clinical Pearls discussing:

  • Adding Allergy to Your Practice
  • EPIC in Otolaryngic Allergy
  • Immunotherapy Compliance
  • Patient Flow
  • Social Media
  • Value – Based Healthcare

9:45pm EDT/6:45pm PDT: Wednesday Session Adjourns

Thursday, October 29, 2020

Mid-Day Session

3:00pm EDT/12:00am PDT: Virtual Surgeons’ Lounge discussing:

  • Adding Allergy
  • Adding Biologics
  • Chronic Cough

Evening Session

7:00pm EDT/4:00pm PDT: VIRTUAL EXPO – Connect @Home: Exhibitor Passport Contest Results! (Winners must be present to collect their prizes)

8:00pm EDT/5:00pm PDT: Clinical Pearls discussing:

  • Component Testing
  • SLIT: State of the Art Practice

8:20pm EDT/5:30pm PDT: Moving Beyond COVID: A Panel Discussion

9:00pm EDT/6:00pm PDT: AAOA Annual Business Meeting Town Hall

9:30pm EDT/6:30pm PDT: Course Session Adjourns

 

Click here to download a printable file of the 2020 AAOA Annual Meeting Schedule. You can also download the schedule at glance here. If you have any questions, please contact meetings@aaoallergy.org.

Learn More about the Annual Meeting Faculty and Speakers. Learn how to access the meeting.

The online syllabus will be available by October 23. All registrants will be provided with access instructions by e-mail when the syllabus is released.

If you’d like to register, please contact AAOA with any questions: meetings@aaoallergy.org.

Join Us Online

AAOA Members

As an association we are always looking for more and better ways to help our Members get and stay engaged, and to expand and enrich their network of peers.  To that end, for 2020, we are continuing the Member benefit for all renewing AAOA Members and Member Candidates: FREE Registration for the VIRTUAL 2020 AAOA Annual Meeting 

Registration Price List

Fellow MemberFREE
Associate MemberFREE
International MemberFREE
NP/PA MemberFREE
Resident/Fellow-In-Training MemberFREE
All Member CandidatesFREE
Non-Member $795.00
One Day Pass
$495.00

Member Candidate

*A Member Candidate must have completed the membership application before the Application Deadline (45 days prior to the annual business meeting, approximately September 11th). Learn More

Cancellation Policy

Registration fees are non-transferable. Refunds for paid registrations (less a 50% administration fee) may be considered for cancellations received in writing by the AAOA prior to September 23, 2020.

Cancellations received after September 23, 2020 are non-refundable. 

If you have a disability or require assistance during the course, contact the AAOA at 202-955-5010 or meetings@aaoallergy.org.

Join the AAOA

As an AAOA member, you will be eligible for registration fee discounts on all AAOA CME functions, including free Annual Meeting (please contact AAOA for details), and all of our patient education and practice management resources. These savings alone can offset most or all of your dues.
Join Today!

Back To Top